August 27, 2013

photoSutro1

Last night around sunset, I filmed some pelicans roosting at Sutro rocks, near the Cliff House. There were far more cormorants than pelicans, but still, it was a lovely scene as they all jostled for space and settled in for the night. I’d gone out there hoping for some shots of pelicans soaring along wave crests, but as usual, nature handed me something else. I’ll try again soon for the wave soaring.

Earlier in August, a friend who was driving by Half Moon Bay saw hundreds of pelicans diving into the bay and called me. Feeding frenzies are often over in a matter of minutes, when the fish move on, but Mark and I decided to give it a shot anyway, and an hour and a half later, after rush-hour traffic had slowed down our departure, the birds were still there! In addition to shooting wide views, I also tried following an individual bird flying through the chaotic scene and then diving, so you can see what one pelican’s experience is out there. I think it works, at least for a few shots. It was such a kick to see pelicans, gulls, and terns feasting on anchovies!

 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “August 27, 2013”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Sounds like a great scene. Bliss!

  2. Sarah Says:

    P.S. Have you ever seen (or, better yet, filmed) crested puffins around here?

    Until last year, I’d assumed that puffins live only in such distant locales as Northern Scotland and Nova Scotia. So imagine my delight when I found out that our very own Northern California is (I think) only the third place in the world they deem worthy to call home. I felt honored and thrilled!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

